RSS

Desire

11 Jan

By Joseph Lalonde

Random Writers: What’s one thing you desire for your future?

IMPACT

Merry Christmas!

Today is the day most celebrates Christmas. We are opening gifts, gathering with family, having a great time.

It is also the day many celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ. The one who gives hope, gives peace, gives joy.

Christmas is a wonderful day and makes me ponder the future.

I know I am loved. I know that my future is secure in Christ. I know where I am going when I die.

However, I do not know what will come a year from now or even tomorrow.

Yet I desire to see many things come to fruition in my future.

My greatest desire is that I am able to leave a lasting impact on those I come into contact with.

I feel Jackie Robinson had it right when he said, “A life is not important except in the impact it has on other lives.”

This desire comes from the work my wife and I do with the youth group at our church. So many of our students come from broken homes. Parents that do not want them around. Seeing the revolving boyfriends or girlfriends their parents bring into the house.

When you talk with them, you can see their brokenness and despair. There is no hope. No joy. No peace.

My desire for my future is that I can impact these students.

To show them that they matter. There is someone that loves them.  That they can overcome the situation they are in. Their situation does not dictate what they will become.

If even one student is changed because of the life I live and the love I give, they world will be a better place.

Knowing someone has found a sense of belonging. Of purpose. Of worth.

I cannot think of a greater thing to desire than this.

Question: How have you impacted someone’s life? Please share your answer in the comment section below.

***

Random Writers would like to thank Joe Lalonde for being a guest contributor to our site for this topic (originally scheduled to have been posted on December 30, and we sincerely apologize for the delay).

Joe is a writer, story teller, and a promoter of leadership and inspiration. He currently resides in Muskegon, Michigan, and serves on the leadership staff for E3 (formerly HYM, Haven Youth Ministry), the youth group of Oakcrest Church of God. You can find out more about Joe by visiting his site (jmlalonde.com), and you can follow him on Twitter at @JosephLalonde

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 11, 2012 in Guest Blogger, Prompts

 

Tags:

One response to “Desire

Leave a Reply

 
