RSS

Fallen Heroes

09 Nov

by Lindsey Goodall

I woke up bright and early this morning, as I do most Wednesday’s, to hammer out my weekly blog post for Random Writers.  I was on to something and intended to post it at lunch time.  But the day had other plans.

I generally check my hometown’s newspapers’ website every morning.  I am clearly my grandmother’s decedent and must be up to date on all obituaries.  As I quickly scanned the page, I thought, despite what I had just been writing, what I truly wished for, was that all our troops would come home, alive.

Today, my hometown buried a fallen soldier.  The newspaper’s website has chronicled the funeral procession throughout the day.  Thousands of Cleveland County residents lined the procession route, waving American flags and supporting the family of Sgt. Christopher Newman after he died, along with at least 16 other individuals, from wounds sustained after an IED explosion.

One of my best friends in the world, hailing from this same small North Carolina town, shipped out two weeks ago to Afghanistan.  While it’s his second tour to the middle east, it is his first as an IED hunter.

So, today, I scrap everything I wrote earlier, and ardently say that the only change I wish to see in our world based on a military theme, is that our military would return all of our soldiers safe and sound to American soil, and that my hometown experiences not another processional for another fallen soldier.

I don’t care how dreamy the notion may be, it is my fervent prayer.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2011 in Lindsey Goodall, Prompts

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Fallen Heroes

  1. Joe Lalonde

    November 18, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Lindsey, I hope your friend returns safe from the battlefront.

    It is always difficult to see someone you know head off. As a youth leader, we have seen many of our kids go off to Iraq and other areas of the world. Thankfully, as far as I know, they have all returned safe.

     

Leave a Reply

 
