RSS

Who Would You Give A Second Chance To?

25 Oct

By Jeff Smith

This week’s blog topic is “Who would you give a second chance to?”

First and foremost, in case you missed Lee’s amazing post about her experience, please take the time to read it. It is an amazing story to read and really puts this question into light. I am humbled to even be part of this group with someone that has the grace and compassion that Lee does.

So, now on to my blatherings about this deep question. I have been pondering this question for two days now. I can honestly say that I can not come up with anyone that I have black listed that I would give a second chance to. I actually can not come up with anyone that I have black listed that really ever had a significant place in my life, to where I would ever desire them to be welcomed in again for any reason.

There is someone that I need to give a second chance to though.

There is someone that I am very close with and know almost everything about. He has had a hard time over the past few years and has not been the happiest of fellows. I know he has not been living the lifestyle that he would like to. Sometimes I talk to him and I just wonder what the hell he is doing and what the hell is going through his head. I know that he is very intelligent and could do some great things with his life and he has expressed some of those ideas. If he just got his act together, and took a few steps, he could really make some shit happen! I really believe in him, but he just needs someone special to give him a chance.

Since he went through a rough period of his life, he has really seemed to be numb to what is happening around him. Just going through the motions of day to day activity. There are days that he seems to really be on top of things, but others he is just cruising along. I know he keeps up with his bills, his chores, and his job, but at times it seems like he is barely hanging on. For some reason, most others think he is really doing great, but I guess he does not see it that way. It boggles me as to how these others are not able to see what is really going on, but I guess one can chalk that up to perspective.

Yet I think he can turn things around. I know he can if one person believes in him and gives him a second chance in his life.

That person to give him a second chance is ME.

The person that I need to give a second chance to is ME.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 25, 2011 in Jeff Smith, Prompts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Who Would You Give A Second Chance To?

  1. Deborah Stewart

    October 25, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Wow Jeff! I did not see that coming. How insightful! And how beautiful. What a lesson for us all. Thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
